Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

College board welcomes new non-executive directors

Published on 9 February 2022
Four new board members will help steer the College as we set out our ambitious new vision.
2 mins read
Reception at the Ryton College of Policing site

We've made four new senior appointments to our board of directors.

Lyn Carpenter, Jaspal Dhillon, Suzanne McCarthy and Rosemary Scully join as non-executive directors, bringing a wealth of experience across community safety, digital transformation, developing standards and serious and organised crime.

College Chair, Lord Herbert of South Downs, welcomed the new appointments to the College.

We are delighted to welcome Lyn, Jaspal, Suzanne and Rosemary to our board at this pivotal moment for policing and the College.

Their experience will be invaluable as we work together with our partner organisations to support and improve policing.

Lord Herbert of South Downs, College of Policing Chair

The new board members replace Christine Elliott, Ian Wylie, Jackie Smith and Clare Minchington, who have come to the end of their tenure.

About the new board members

Lyn Carpenter

Lyn joins as non-executive director with responsibility for whistleblowing.

Lyn has more than 25 years' experience in local government and is currently Chief Executive of Thurrock Council, with lead responsibility for the council's strategic direction and operations. 

She is passionate about working in partnership to keep people safe. In recent years she has acted as joint chair for the Community Safety Partnerships in Elmbridge and London Borough of Merton, responded strategically to successfully protect Hammersmith and Fulham during the London Riots in 2012, and chaired the violence against women and girls working group in three London Boroughs. 

Jaspal Dhillon

Jaspal joins our audit and risk committee.

Jaspal has experience across many industries, including financial services, retail, investment banking and the health sector.

He is currently the lead for Europe, the Middle East and Africa at Credit Suisse. He leads the review, challenge and approval of innovative digital solutions to support transformational programmes. He is a also a non-executive director within the NHS.

Suzanne McCarthy

Suzanne joins as chair of our audit and risk committee. She is pleased to support policing through its significant challenges.

Suzanne has extensive experience as both chair and board member for complex national organisations operating in sensitive political environments.

She is currently chair of the Fire Standards board, two charities (Right to Succeed and Lepra), and the Joint Audit Panel of the Mayor’s Office of Policing and Crime and the Metropolitan Police Service. She is also a member of the Gangmasters and Labour Abuse Authority, where she chairs the audit committee, and the Fundraising Regulator, where she chairs the standards committee. 

Rosemary Scully

Rosemary joins as chair of the nominations and remuneration committee and will act as Senior Independent Director.

Rosemary is an experienced non-executive director and is currently a board member of the Police Crime Prevention Initiatives, operating under the National Police Chiefs' Council. She was also a member of the 2020 Independent Review of Serious and Organised Crime, chaired by Sir Craig Mackey.

She has a good understanding of the challenges facing policing and the College, particularly the need to rebuild trust and legitimacy.

Was this page useful?

Do not provide personal information such as your name or email address in the feedback form. Read our privacy policy for more information on how we use this data

What is the reason for your answer?
I couldn't find what I was looking for
The information wasn't relevant to me
The information is too complicated